Back to virtual open day

EYFS is the phase of learning that occurs from birth to age 5. In Nursery and Reception we follow the Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum which can be found below.


There are seven areas of learning split into Prime areas and Specific areas:

Prime areas of learning

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development

Specific areas of learning

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

The EYFS document forms our curriculum alongside the Primary Years Program (PYP) which is covered throughout the school.

The Department for Education released a document that helps to outline what skills parents can expect to see and the age these skills are likely to be seen.

 ‘What to expect when?’ by DfE

When starting school, your child will be 4 years old and working within the 40-60 month band with some possible overlap in the 30-50 month band. Please keep in mind that each child is unique and development may happen at different rates. If you have concerns, please get in touch with our Inclusion team.